Lankum win the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2023

Lankum has been announced as the winner of the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2023 for the album False Lankum. Previous AOTY winner Denise Chalia made the announcement in Vicar St after the judging panel, made up of Irish music media professionals and chaired by Jim Carroll, met up this evening to decide on the winning album.

xxxxx received a cheque for €10,000, a prize which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA), as well as a specially commissioned award.

The event, hosted by RTÉ 2FM’s Tracy Clifford, took place live in Vicar St and was broadcast live on 2FM with Beta Da Silva, included exclusive performances from eight of the nominated artists.

Cian Ducrot has been voted the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Song of the Year for his song “Heaven”. The song was selected from a shortlist of 10 songs by public vote (Ireland only), via the RTÉ 2FM and Choice Music Prize websites and was announced by Tracy Clifford on her 2FM show this afternoon.

Jazzy won Irish Artist of the Year presented by Neil Hannon, as well as Irish Breakthrough Artist of the Year presented by Mark Crossingham from Universal Ireland. Dave Fanning collected U2’s award for the Classic Irish Album Achtung Baby. The Edge and Adam Clayton sent a message via video from Las Vegas.

Conversations, with four industry panels, took place earlier in the day in BIMM on Francis St.

RTÉ2 will broadcast a one-hour TV programme of the RTÉ Choice Music Prize, featuring performances from the eight acts and hosted by Tracy Clifford on Thursday 14th March at 22.30.